Episode 9: Maximal Critique

News Criticism: Internal and External Pete Rizzo's latest article (https://www.forbes.com/sites/peterizzo/2022/03/28/bitcoin-after-2140-differing-views-on-the-future-of-the-future-of-money/) is a thoughtful summary of the three main narratives of bitcoin maximalism Currently tether is an important humanitarian tool (https://twitter.com/gladstein/status/1473409024540360705) which challenges the 'bitcoin fixes this' narrative of 3rd world finance The Cannadian government's sanctions of the Ottowa truckers (https://www.politico.com/news/2022/02/28/trucker-crypto-crackdown-in-canada-fuels-gop-backlash-in-u-s-00011401) suggest that 1st world surviellance states may be able to supress some aspects of subversive bitcoin usage A critique on NFTs that begins with a somewhat lazy (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQ_xWvX1n9g) attack on bitcoin but is generally correct in it's critique of financial grifters pushing DeFi, WEB3, and NFTs Why do narratives like this appeal to no-coiners like Ezra Klein (https://www.nytimes.com/2022/04/05/opinion/ezra-klein-podcast-dan-olson.html)? Privacy News A deeper look at Rohan's ECASH act (https://ecashact.us/#hardware) and why the Bitcoin Dad supports it, but is concerned about its limitations The act has a fascinating research section (https://ecashact.us/#privacylinks) Coincenter has researched the necessity of anonymous cash for an open society (https://www.coincenter.org/the-case-for-electronic-cash/) as well Cash App gets hacked (https://techcrunch.com/2022/04/05/block-cash-app-data-breach) and containg ~8 million customers, inside job Moxie (rightly) takes down the false privacy assumptions of Telegram (https://twitter3e4tixl4xyajtrzo62zg5vztmjuricljdp2c5kshju4avyoid.onion/moxie/status/1474067549574688768) But what are the trade offs of Signal? Protonmail + Simplelogin? *Chef's kiss Bitcoin Education Even Vitalik thinks ETH doesn't really work (https://vitalik.ca/general/2022/03/29/road.html) Bitcoin 2022 Conference Open Source Stage (https://noderunners.network/en/media/podcasts/bitcoin-magazine/open-source-stage-day-2-bitcoin-2022-in-miami/46140) has great technical discussion The Bitcoin Core PR Review Club (https://bitcoincore.reviews/) is a way to learn about bitcoin and software development in a hands on manner Feedback Remember to get in touch bitcoindadpod@protonmail.com or @bitcoindadpod on twitter On MMT, Stephanie Kelton is inspirational (https://www.ted.com/talks/stephanie_kelton_the_big_myth_of_government_deficits) not stupid, but I think her strategy is likely to be highly inflationary MMT tries to describe the complex financial systems that regulate money production in an economy It also debunks the "how will you pay for it?" argument to redistributive social policies On the darker side, it likely requires capital controls and financial surveillance to work Corrections No one has raised anything lately... Podcasting 2.0 to support an indepenent podcasting ecosystem (https://podcastindex.org/) The Fountain (https://www.fountain.fm/) podcast app Sponsors and Acknowledgements Music by Lesfm from Pixabay Self Hosted Show (https://selfhosted.show/) courtesy of Jupiter Broadcasting (https://www.jupiterbroadcasting.com/)