Episode 3: Sanctions vs Self Custody

Feedback Remember to share feedback at bitcoindadpod@protonmail.com or @bdadpod on twitter Advice for LostFaithinPaperMoney Helpful links for begining to self-custody your bitcoin Intro (https://bitcoin-intro.com/) to holding bitcoin Sparrow Wallet (https://sparrowwallet.com/docs/quick-start.html) quick start guide Wallet Software and a good Hardware Wallet Sparrow Bitcoin Wallet - Sparrow Wallet (https://sparrowwallet.com/) COLDCARD Wallet – Hardware Wallet - The Most Trusted and Secure Hardware Wallet (https://coldcard.com/) Exodus (https://www.exodus.com/) News Finally some good privacy news (https://lists.linuxfoundation.org/pipermail/bitcoin-dev/2022-February/020026.html) from Chris Belcher about his new coinswap protocol This Month in Bitcoin Privacy is back! (https://enegnei.github.io/This-Month-In-Bitcoin-Privacy/February_2022/) Awesome newsletter by the pseudonymous opensource journalist Janine More challenges with Wasabi v2, incredibly privacy info NFT marketplace OpenSEE is not decentralized and subject to sanctions policy (https://www.coindesk.com/policy/2022/03/03/opensea-bars-iranian-users-as-us-sanctions-talk-ramps-up/) Etherium infrastructure providers will block certain areas (https://www.coindesk.com/policy/2022/03/03/metamask-infura-block-certain-areas-amid-crypto-sanctions-fury/) from using their "decentralized" blockchain Sanctions on the Russian Central Bank (https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2022-02-28/central-bank-sanctions-breach-fortress-russia-halt-intervention) may have frozen 30-50% of Russian FX reserves History - Payments vs Global Money Chris is so right about bitcoin 10 years ago (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgShbj-8c28&t=1588s) but the narrative was mostly about transactions, not investment/value transfer into the future Nick Szabo's Shelling Out (https://nakamotoinstitute.org/shelling-out/) describes a theoritcal framework to analyze a commodity gradually becoming money Paper is hosted by the Nakamoto Institute (https://nakamotoinstitute.org/) which has some great bitcoin research The narrative between transactional money and gold/value money changed during the Block Size War (https://blog.bitmex.com/the-blocksize-war-chapter-1-first-strike/) Mike Hearn of Bitcoin XT analyzes the death of the bitcoin network (https://blog.plan99.net/the-resolution-of-the-bitcoin-experiment-dabb30201f7#.5jvqjf9lg) in 2016 Early video defending bitcoin's small block (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZp7UGgBR0I) decentralization, look at the comments for a sense of how loud the big block argument was An early podcast debate on block size Increases (https://www.bitcoin.kn/2015/09/adam-back-gavin-andresen-block-size-increase/) between Gavin Andreeson and Adam Back Corrections Proof of Stake is great for pump and dumps Tuur Dem has a concise piece (https://tuurdemeester.medium.com/critique-of-buterins-a-proof-of-stake-design-philosophy-49fc9ebb36c6) outlining some logical fallacies in POS security Sponsors and Acknowledgements Music by Lesfm from Pixabay Self Hosted Show (https://selfhosted.show/) courtesy of Jupiter Broadcasting (https://www.jupiterbroadcasting.com/)